Native American Culture


More than 20 percent of Native Americans in the United States live in the American Southwest, especially in the present-day states of New Mexico and Arizona.
New Mexico is home to 23 Tribes, Nations and Pueblos: 19 Pueblos, the Jicarilla Apache Nation, the Mescalero Apache Tribe, the Fort Sill Apache Tribe, and the Navajo Nation that crosses over into Arizona and Utah, and is the largest in terms of land base and population. Each tribe is a sovereign nation with its own rules, regulations, language, governing structure, customs, and both political and religious leaders.

Explore the pages below for additional information.

Download the schedule of Pueblo Feast Days and Tribal Celebrations.


New Mexico's 19 Native American Pueblos are some of the oldest tribal communities in the... Read More

Pueblos, Tribes And Nations

American Indians inhabited New Mexico long before Spanish contact in the 1500s, and their timeless... Read More

Seasonal Celebrations, Dances And Feast Days

Please call the respective Tribe, Nation, or Pueblo directly—see list of phone numbers on the... Read More

Visiting Tribal Communities

Native American people are traditionally welcoming and generous, especially on the days when the... Read More

Native American Art

Native Americans of the Southwest create many varieties of stunningly beautiful arts and crafts and... Read More

Cultural Institutions

The Indian Pueblo Cultural Center is an ideal resource for learning more about the history of New... Read More